you're reading
Poetry

If You Forget Me

If You Forget Me

I want you to know
one thing.

You know how this is:
if I look
at the crystal moon, at the red branch
of the slow autumn at my window,
if I touch
near the fire
the impalpable ash
or the wrinkled body of the log,
everything carries me to you,
as if everything that exists,
aromas, light, metals,
were little boats
that sail
toward those isles of yours that wait for me.

Well, now,
if little by little you stop loving me
I shall stop loving you little by little.

If suddenly
you forget me
do not look for me,
for I shall already have forgotten you.

If you think it long and mad,
the wind of banners
that passes through my life,
and you decide
to leave me at the shore
of the heart where I have roots,
remember
that on that day,
at that hour,
I shall lift my arms
and my roots will set off
to seek another land.

But
if each day,
each hour,
you feel that you are destined for me
with implacable sweetness,
if each day a flower
climbs up to your lips to seek me,
ah my love, ah my own,
in me all that fire is repeated,
in me nothing is extinguished or forgotten,
my love feeds on your love, beloved,
and as long as you live it will be in your arms
without leaving mine.

*Emphasis, mine.

By Pablo Neruda, the poet of enslaved humanity

About Ima Kulit

restless. independent. rock music and classical music, third world poetry and literature, theory and criticism, beaches, sunsets, wide open spaces, sports and running, laughter, art, and photography sustain me. i love to travel alone. it's the best way to get lost in the labyrinth of my thoughts.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

RSS Pinoy Weekly

  • DictaLicense September 20, 2017
    Lalong dumarami ang panitikan ng protesta sa panahon ng paglala ng pampolitikang krisis sa kasaysayan ng bansa.

RSS Bulatlat.com

RSS The Diplomat

RSS The Economist: Finance and Economics

  • Stanley Fischer and the twilight of technocracy September 14, 2017
    IN 2004 Stanley Fischer described the wonder he felt as an economics student in the 1960s. “You had a set of equations”, he said, “that meant you could control the economy.” Technocracy—the dream of scientific government by a caste of wise men—arose in the 20th century, as rapid change rendered the world unfathomably complex; in economics, it came of age in […]

RSS The Economist: Books and Arts

  • The many, often competing, jobs of the Bank of England September 14, 2017
    Till Time’s Last Sand: A History of the Bank of England 1694-2013. By David Kynaston. Bloomsbury Publishing; 896 pages; £35. To be published in America in November; $75. MONTAGU NORMAN, the longest-serving (1920-44) and most eccentric governor of the Bank of England, had little time for economists. He quipped to his economic adviser that “You are not here to […]
